Soundless by Richelle Mead (♥♥♥♥♥)

IMG_8557

Soundless (♥♥♥♥♥) by Richelle Mead

Book’s Summary :

For as long as Fei can remember, there has been no sound in her village. Her people are at the mercy of a mysterious faraway kingdom, which delivers food in return for precious metals mined from the treacherous cliffs surrounding them.

When villagers begin to lose their sight, their rations shrink and many go hungry. Fei’s home, the boy she loves, and her entire existence is plunged into crisis, under threat of darkness and starvation.

Then Fei is awoken in the night by a searing noise, and sound becomes her weapon . . .

My Review :

I overall really enjoyed this book, loved it! But there’s only one tiny bit thing that I feel quite lacking.

I think the Chinese folklore in this book is not enough, even though I’m Asian and I know which one this book is talking about, I feel like I want know about it. because the creature in this book is real Chinese folklore, but the history about it in this book is kinda fantasy, I’m not sure though, because I read the acknowledgments, it said Judy Liu helped with the Taiwan and China culture, and what I heard from my elders are different.

There are so many thing I loved in this book, the characters, the plots, the adventures, the struggles, the romance for sure, and the culture that’s going on back then. One thing that I love the most is the writing, because Fei and the whole village are deaf, so she writes “she sign” not “she says”. Actually, this is my first Richelle Mead (I know), and I think I will read more Richelle Mead in the future (soon).

Leave a Reply

